Statement by Women's & Gender Studies Faculty Supporting Fairness in the Process of Voting on Unionization

The undersigned faculty and affiliated faculty of the Women's and Gender Studies Department believe it is in everyone's interest for the Santa Clara University administration to ensure a fair election process on the question of adjunct and lecturer unionization.

Democratic voting procedures in our system rest on the rights of voters to exercise (or not) their vote. Stipulating additional conditions impedes a fair vote. The conditions supported by the administration thus far, that "there should be a minimum quorum of the total number of eligible voters who must participate in the process," contravenes democratic voting rights.

As anti-racist feminist scholars we know a great deal about historical and current attempts to suppress voting rights in the United States and around the world. We are dismayed that the university has chosen to work with an anti-union law firm, whose representative has stated publicly that the voter suppression tactic of requiring a minimum quorum is in keeping with standard practices in unionization elections. In fact, the practice is uncommon and out of step with the procedures of the National Labor Relations Board.

This issue transcends an individual's support or opposition to faculty unionization and speaks to basic principles of fairness and democracy. We urge Santa Clara University to do what is right and support a fair and free election, one whose outcome is determined by a simple majority of those who choose to cast ballots.

Signed,

Sharmila Lodhia, Chair and Associate Professor WGST Linda Garber, Associate Dean of CAS and Associate Professor WGST Laura Ellingson, Professor Joanna Núñez, Postdoc in WGST Mukta Sharangpani, Academic Year Adjunct Lecturer, WGST Kristen Kolenz, Academic Year Adjunct Lecturer, Barbara Molony, Walter E. Schmidt, SJ, Professor, History Amy Randall, Chair and Professor, History David Skinner, Professor Scott LaBarge, Associate Professor Naomi Andrews, Professor Mary Elaine Hegland, Professor Emerita, Anthropology Sarah Robinson, Quarterly Adjunct Lecturer Michelle Mueller, Academic Year Adjunct Lecturer

Marilyn Edelstein, Associate Professor of English
Diana Morlang, Senior Lecturer, Political Science
Jesica Siham Fernández, Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies
Sonja Mackenzie, Associate Professor, Public Health
Jimia Boutouba, Associate Professor, MODLL Kirstyn Leuner, Assistant Professor, English David Popalisky, Associate Professor
Michelle Burnham, Professor
Allia Griffin, Lecturer, Ethnic Studies
Sonia Gomez, Assistant Professor (history)
Karen Peterson-lyer, Assistant Professor