Statement by English Department Faculty Supporting Fairness in the Voting Process for Unionization

The undersigned faculty of the English Department wish to contribute the statement below as a means to highlight problematic components of the University administration's understanding of best practices as the negotiations to reach agreement about a free and fair voting process related to unionization continue. We appreciate the Administration's willingness to negotiate with AFLOC to ensure a fair election process, but we are deeply concerned that some elements of the Administration's approach to the negotiations are antithetical to Catholic social teaching.

The undersigned are aware that the possibility of unionization is not attractive to all non-tenure-stream faculty. Opinions about how best to create a more equitable and stable work environment for contingent faculty, especially the extent to which unionization is the best strategy to achieve our shared goals, vary. That is why the vote is so important.

But the faculty who sign below agree on the following items articulated in the Religious Studies faculty statement shared April 27:

 the University administration's decision to employ an anti-union law firm, Littler Mendelson, to lead their negotiations on the unionization election is not consistent with the University mission;
the best way forward is for the University to work within the clear guidelines offered by the National Labor Relations Board, such that only ballots cast should be counted as votes either for or against unionization – those who decide not to cast ballots should not be counted as "votes" against unionization;

3) continued negotiations in good faith is a desideratum.

Signatures

Phyllis Brown, Professor Michelle Burnham, Professor Tim J. Myers, senior lecturer Michael Lasley, Lecturer John Hawley, Professor Diane Dreher, Professor Danielle Morgan, Assistant Professor Kirstyn Leuner, Assistant Professor Robert Michalski, Senior Lecturer Terry Beers, Professor Maggie Levantovskaya, Lecturer Denise Krane, Lecturer Ainsley Kelly, Quarterly Adjunct Lecturer Maria Judnick, Lecturer Robin Tremblay-McGaw, Lecturer Claudia Monpere McIsaac, Senior Lecturer Cruz Medina, Associate Professor Maura Tarnoff, Lecturer Matt Driscoll, Academic Year Adjunct Lecturer Andrew Keener, Assistant Professor Kirk Glaser, Senior Lecturer Marilyn Edelstein, Associate Professor Amy Lueck, Assistant Professor Theresa Conefrey, Lecturer