Statement by Biology Faculty Supporting Fairness in the Voting Process for Unionization

We the undersigned faculty of the Biology Department are disheartened with the outcome of mediation on the issue of the Lecturer unionization vote. After an open and public commitment in favor of allowing our colleagues' desire to vote on unionization this year, the administration has repeatedly failed to take meaningful action in service of this promise. The fact that they have now unilaterally declared the mediation process "over" is especially demoralizing.

The Biology Department serves every life science major on campus. Nearly half (40%) of our faculty are non-tenure track. These talented individuals are invaluable to us and our students, not to mention indispensable to our ability to deliver a curriculum that is ever-increasing in demand. We feel the actions of the administration are counter-productive to our promise to provide a world-class life science education. Furthermore, this most recent decision is a denial of our colleagues' professional dignity and respect. They do not have the protection of tenure. They need to be allowed to have a fair and free process to decide for themselves if unionization is how they wish to organize and protect themselves. This statement is in no way an advocacy by any of us for (or against) unionization. It is an advocacy for adherence to basic democratic and Jesuit principles of fairness, humanity and justice.

In closing, this is just one in a series of recent actions by the University that has undermined our faith in the ability of this administration to lead the University forward. We implore our colleagues in the administration to reconsider this ill-advised course of action.

Signed (alphabetically),

Mishan Afsari, Academic Year Adjunct Lecturer Brian Bayless, Assistant Professor Laura Cocas, Assistant Professor Elizabeth Dahlhoff, Professor Janice Edgerly-Rooks, Professor Dawn Hart, Lecturer David Hess, Associate Professor, Chair of Biology Ángel Islas, Associate Professor Katy Korsmeyer, AYAL, Director of Special Projects College of Arts and Sciences Giorgio Lagna, Academic Year Adjunct Lecturer Michelle McCully, Assistant Professor Leilani Miller, Associate Professor Christelle Sabatier, Senior Lecturer, Director of Neuroscience Program Brody Sandel, Assistant Professor Kat Saxton, Associate Professor, Director of Public Health Program Erin Schwartz, Senior Lab Instructor and Coordinator Craig Stephens, Professor